Make your own free website on Tripod.com

About Me...

Hi, My name is Mike. I'm a college student. Here's some info about me:

NEW!! Places I've been 

Now (updated 22 June 2000)

I just finished my sophomore year at The University of Iowa. I'm now living off campus finally. I am taking one class in the summer session. I just declared my major: Political Science. It's kinda boring but I only have 6 more classes to take for the major. And I have 2 years to take those classes so I might as well get the degree. I'm thinking about picking up something else as a double major or minor. I'm done with all the intro level courses in Poli Sci. I got a 'D' in one of them. 'D' is for 'done' I guess. But my overall cumulative GPA ain't too bad though. I'm also working at the same computer lab about 30 or so hours a week.

My sister Jan just graduated from law school out in Chicago last weekend so I went out to that with the rest of the family. It was fun.

That's about all that's going on now I guess.

 

Summer 1999

At the end of May , I started to work for Per Mar Security & Research Corp. I was a rent-a-cop. It was pretty easy--I pretty much got paid to sit there and make sure the place wasn't on fire or anything. I've worked as a security guard at Tone's Spices in Ankeny, the EMC building downtown, Embassy Suites downtown, EMC's computer facility in Ames, and at Stanley Design-Build's construction project on the Iowa State University campus in Ames. I just quit working for Per Mar right before it was time to start thinking about moving back to Iowa City.

The only thing notable I've done this summer is a road trip I went on with my friend James from high school. We left on Monday 28 June and drove up to some casino southeast of the Twin Cities. I lost $40 unfortunately. We stayed at a hotel in Red Wing, MN that night and saw Lock & Dam #3 the next morning. We stopped through Wisconsin Dells, WI the next day and went on a boat tour of a river and some big rock formations. We continued to the Chicago area that night and went out to dinner with my sister Jan and saw a movie. The next day we drove to Toronto, Ontario. It was a long drive. We had to stop and have our car searched when we crossed into Canada from Detroit. We got to Toronto just as it was getting dark. We drove around the city a little but there wasn't much going on. It was kind of strange because Toronto is a city of 2 million+ people but there really wasn't much going on and the traffic was fairly light. We did see some black guy in a nice car try to pick up some prostitute though. And you know how in the US when you get the green arrow that means you have a protected left turn, well, in their country they have a flashing green light that apparently means the same thing. We were at an intersection and that flashing green light thing happened and we were like, "What the $%^ is that suppose to mean?" The next day we got up and checked out of our hotel. We drove downtown and ate at Planet Hollywood for lunch. We went to the Toronto Bluejays baseball game that afternoon at the Skydome. After that we drove down to the Niagara Falls area. All it is is a big waterfall. I don't know why anyone would want to spend more than a half a day there. We were there for about an hour and then we crossed the border into New York. We drove overnight through Buffalo, Cleveland, Chicago, and the Quad Cities. We stopped for a couple of hours in Iowa City and then we finally made it back to Des Moines on Friday afternoon. It was a good road trip. I have pictures, but I still need to get them scanned. I'll eventually have some up on this site.

 

My Family

I'm the youngest of three children. I have two older siblings, a brother and a sister. We all went to the same high school and we all either have or are working for our undergraduate degrees from the University of Iowa. My brother is three years older than I am. He has a semester of college left at the University and I think he wants to work for a few months and then go to law school. My sister is 5 years older than me and has been married for 4 years. She goes to law school at John Marshall Law School and lives near Chicago with her husband Scott, who goes to Columbia College. Jan has just 1 year of law school left.

 

Where I've lived and went to school

I was born in Mason City, Iowa in 1980. I lived in Pella, Iowa and Des Moines, Iowa before moving to Temple, Texas with my mom, sister, and brother in 1984. In Temple, I went to Reagan Elementary School for kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grades. For 3rd grade I went to Meredith Magnet School.

In 1989 I moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico with my mom, step-dad, and brother. I went to Hubert H. Humphrey Elementary School for 4th and 5th grades. I went to Eisenhower Middle School for 6th grade.

In the fall of 1992 my mom, step-dad and I moved to Hoover, Alabama near Birmingham. I went to Simmons Middle School for the first part of my 7th grade year. In the middle of the school year, we moved to Tuscaloosa, Alabama. I finished my 7th grade year at Tuscaloosa Middle School.

In the fall of 1993 we moved to Ridgeland, Mississippi near Jackson. I started 8th grade at Rosa Scott Middle School. Later that school year, we moved across town to Brandon, Mississippi, another suburb. I finished my 8th grade year at Northwest Rankin Attendance Center (must be a P.C. term for "school").

In May of 1994 I moved to Des Moines, Iowa to live with my Dad and to go to high school. I went to Saydel High School immediately north of Des Moines and graduated in May of 1998. I'm currently going to the University of Iowa in Iowa City and living in the dorms there during the school year.

 

Where I've worked

I worked at a Bonanza restaurant for three days in the summer of 1995. I worked at Kmart for 11 months from July of 1996 to June of 1997. Then I worked at K's Merchandise in Urbandale for three weeks. After I quit that job, I began to work at Sears in mid-July of 1997. I worked there steadily from then until I left for college in the fall of 1998. I still sort of work there, but only every once in a while on breaks from school. In the summer of 1999, I worked primarily as a security guard at Per Mar and a little at Sears. While I'm in Iowa City, I work as a computer lab monitor at the Iowa Memorial Union.

 

 

This page was last updated 22 June 2000.